Home » Cards » This is a Special Day

This is a Special Day

 

 

Today is a special day as today is World Cardmaking Day.  I had been expecting company all next week so I had been getting all my cards done and not signing on to do anything extra but my friend called yesterday and her dog got real sick.  Those who have furbabies understand that they are like our children and that they are a lot of companionship to those of us who have relocated recently and haven’t been able to replace the close friendships that we had formed over the past 12 years.  My husband is looking at at least 2 major surgeries in the next year so I asked her if she would be able to come and be with me for at least one of them.  I really will need her more then anyway.

You all know that I think Heather at Fresh Brewed Designs is awesome.  Many in the scrapbooking community are giving and loving.  Heather is definitely one in that category.  There are fewer and fewer places that Christians are welcome these days it seems and perhaps it will some day become that way in our little scrapbooking community as well.  However, as of now there are a few spots that are for those of us with faith.  It is nice that we can have our own spot the same as those of other beliefs have their own places.  I honestly didn’t realize until I spoke out on cancer the other day that I would ever speak out about any of my beliefs but if we stay silent much longer we will lose our Freedom of Speech.  That is a freedom that we take for granted and when we lose it we are going to wish we had it back.  Anyway, I am getting off track but just remember to be thankful and to exercise your rights for Freedom of Speech.  You don’t have to be hurtful.  That isn’t what it is about.  But just because you say you believe one thing or another doesn’t mean that it has to be offensive to someone else or that they have the right to keep you from worshiping the way you want.

Heather offered a free digital the other day.  It was called Christmas House.  You can get your own copy if you click on that link.  I colored it and then made a cardstock house and put one on the front and another one on the back.  I know that I should have reversed the digi to make it look correct.  If I had planned ahead and realized what I was going to do, that is exactly what I would have done.  I was thinking that this will look really good on one of those wooden trays and that we can place all of the Christmas cards we receive this year in the wooden tray along with the Christmas House that I got from Fresh Brewed Designs.  Right now there is a Pre-Blog Hop Challenge at Fresh Brewed Designs as well as a “Thinking of You” Challenge at Fresh Brewed Designs.  You really should check these challenges out.  Heather also has a very active facebook page that you can check out here.

I hope that you have been inspired to get crafty today.  It is a great weekend to craft.  With it being World Card Making Day and Monday being a holiday, you actually have a 3 day weekend to get crafty and show your stuff!  Please share with me when you do.  I would love to see what you make.  Ah ha, I almost forgot to tell you what copics I used making my card:

B-0000, 02

E-23

G-0000, 05, 46

R-37, 89

V-06, 09

Y-000, 15, 28

YG-06

YR-0000, 68

Thank you and until we meet again…Ciao…

7 thoughts on “This is a Special Day

  1. Patti,
    I just love your house it is so beautiful! I know you said it’s a Christmas house but it reminds me of a Gingerbread house, and I just adore those! I sorta collect them! Fabulous job on your coloring this is just to awesome!
    Peace,
    Kristy

  2. *me all teary eyed over here* Thank you for this wonderful post. I can not tell you how much I appreciate your opening your heart and sharing that with us all. You are such a blessing to me and so many others!

    I am sorry your friend was unable to make it for a visit. I also hope that your husbands surgeries take care of the problems he is facing and he heals quickly. Prayers being sent up!

    As for your project – This little house is ADORABLE!!! Oh goodness Patti!!! I love the happy cheerful colors! Great idea to make it into a 3d project! YGG!!! I wish I could say I was able to create for WCMday but I was SO BUSY!!! I did get to color and get ready for the Oct hop though 🙂

    Sending big hugs and smiles
    Thanks for playing along!
    Heather

  3. Cute and fun image, loving the virbant colors and design. You are so sweet. Your blog is full of inspiration and just darn right fun. A note of thanks for visiting and leaving the lovely comments. Hugs

  4. Shut the front door!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You hit the ball out of the ball park with this project!! Beautiful Girl and it looks hard to do! So sorry to hear about your husband’s surgeries in the future, I will be praying…I took your advise and joined CCC!!!! I dove right in!!! I mentioned you sent me. Have a super relaxing weekend and Ihope your friends dog gets better..

All Comments & Responses Are Extremely Appreciated!

