Home » Birthday » The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog Challenge #7

The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog Challenge #7

Woo Hoo!  Today I’m going to show you that I actually care about other stamping companies and that I can make beautiful cards with their stamps too.  Did you happen to notice that I am on the Design Team for The Stamping Boutique?  Well, if you click that link you can go to their challenge blog.  The Stamping Boutique sponsors many other blogs.  Tracey Malnofski is the owner/artist and I have to say that she is a super person, not only to work with but also as an artist.  Maybe that should be the other way around.  Haven’t we always heard that artists are moody?  Tracey really is one of the nicest people.  Well, actually, I am telling you that I used one of her images, AJ the Race Car Driver, on my card.  You can purchase him here.  I believe that he is one of the most popular images that The Stamping Boutique has.  It is hard to find images for little boys.  Let me just mention too that their stamps are 30% off right now!  That is a bargain.  And while I am telling you about all of this let me just mention that the background paper is from the new paper line at The Stamping Boutique called Cynthia.  It comes in both 12″ x 12″ as well as 8.5″ x 11″.  I used the light green sheet because it matched my image and was more boyish than the rest.

Now actually this post is about the Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog Challenge #7 – CAS With A Twist:  “CAS With No Primary Colors”

There is a week left to this challenge so you should have plenty of time left to enter if your heart desires. The challenge is simple, create a CAS (Clean And Simple) project but you can not use primary colors.  You can use any image for this challenge! They are allowing all types of creations, whether it is a Card, Scrapbook Page, Fat Book Page, Tag, ATC (Artist Trading Card), Box, Bag, 3D – Altered Art, or Other Crafting Projects that has some form of paper on it!  Challenge #7 ends at Midnight August 31st.

So, I’ve told you about my image and the background paper.  Let’s put up a picture of the recipient of the card real quick.

David turns 7 on September 3rd.  We babysit for him.  He loves to come into my scrap room.  He especially loves playing with the punches.  Both of my grandsons that we babysit seem to enjoy the cards I make.  I usually run them by them to see what they think of them.  I think he will be surprised that I made one he didn’t see except that school is going to start on Monday.

The challenge itself was to make sure you didn’t use a primary color.  I think I did a pretty good job with that.  I think mine are all neutral or secondary colors.  Here is my list of Copics:

Black 100 and 110

BG-18

C-7/C-9

E-00/E-35/E-37/E-39/E-57

G-14/G-17

Y-0000/Y-000/Y-15/Y-17

YR-00

I truly love this card and I made two while I was making it.  I know I don’t have a lot of readers but how many of you do have a lot of readers and can make an impact on others?  Have you read Dustin Pike’s blog?  He has a story posted about a 12 year old boy named, Kenton, who is undergoing treatment for cancer.  He is asking people to please send cards to help cheer this little boy up.  The 7 year old I made this card for has a brother that will be 12 in February.  I know if it was him I would be thrilled if the scrapbooking community got behind something like this and sent him cards to make his day.  I am going to use the second card I made to wish Kenton a “Speedy Recovery”.  Is there something I could possibly do to inspire you to join this cause?  You know it didn’t take me long to make a card for the challenge and just color 2 of them at the same time so that I could do this.  I’m asking as a favor for you to post this on your blog as well so that perhaps more people will make cards and send them to Kenton.  Thank you in advance.  Dustin is offering a free image in exchange for a card in you need an incentive.  I know that Kenton’s parents will be appreciative.  I’m sure that this little boy will think better of mankind and it will probably put a smile on your face as well knowing that you have put a smile on a little boy’s face.

Until we meet again…Ciao…

8 thoughts on “The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog Challenge #7

  1. Your card is truly great! I bet your grandson is going to love it. Little David is so precious!! What a beautiful boy! And his missing teeth too cute!! Happy 7th Birthday Lil’ David!!

  2. Hey, Patti! I was beginning to wonder if you loved us or not! (LOL) This is adorable (and so is David). I love 7 year old boys. They are so curious, adventurous, and just darn cute with those missing teeth. David is bound to love this creation. Thanks for joining us here at Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog1
    Hugz,
    Your bud, Chana!

  3. I just realized you have to click on the title in order to comment! I will know for the next time.. I wrote a comment on this card in the About section, lol

All Comments & Responses Are Extremely Appreciated!

